On My Road To The Fourth Estate: My Tale As A Student Journalist. Kunle Sotibi Cicero [KSC]

PART 1

Lois, oh Lois, my very good friend after that long Facebook chat introduced me to the press- before I resumed my three-year sojourn in the FIRST and the BEST university in Nigeria.

I was anticipating how life would be in my newly found citadel of learning so I decided to make UI friends before resumption, that was how I met Lois on Facebook, told her about my love for writing then she said ”you should join the faculty press”- that was how the journey from the first estate to the fourth estate started.

Oh, I didn’t state earlier that my name is Kunle Sotibi Joshua, I gained admission into university of Ibadan as a direct entry student to the department of teachers (education). Although the department was divided in the year of my entrance and the new department was department of Arts and Social sciences education, history is my teaching course.

Graduated in 2014 from Emmanuel Alayande college of education, Oyo,where I bagged an NCE certificate in history combined with economics. During my days at the college of education, I treaded on the path of student politics where I rendered my services to the students of history department for two years. Started as the Vice President which after I succeeded my President. My journey through student politics was fun, so I wanted something different, then I fixed my bag (full of notes, pens and pen re-filler) to my back and set out on a journey to the fourth estate… And I joined the NUESA PRESS FAMILY.

After Lois gave me the phone number of the Editor-in Chief of the faculty of education press organization, NUESA Press organization, after one of the lectures of the Almighty STE 202, I called the Editor in Chief and he invited me for a meeting via text message. Was confused when I was struggling finding my way to the location of the meeting then I called my potential boss for description, lo and behold that voice ”do you aspect me to come pick you up ?” confused me the more. Smiled, meanwhile, I found my way to that the venue then I met my first press family.

Alao Abiodun Joshua was the Editor in chief who embraced me into the pen clan. Wait, let me tell you who Alao Abiodun is- a man of strength, brilliant, a wonderful news reporter everywhere he goes and a prolific editor. I think in this case of mine, first impression was erased by the good attributes AAJ possesses.

So, I started from the cradle of writing, daily nuggets and opinions were my first practicals, I wrote everyday giving my Editor a great task to do. I wanted to learn so fast, of course, I took student journalism serious. Took press works serious, then I loved conducting vox populi but my weakness was news reportage.
From NUESA press I moved to the mother body of all press organizations in University of Ibadan, I wrote and passed the induction examination of the Union of Campus Journalists, University of Ibadan, the union that champions freedom with the pen.
Immediately, I joined the publicity committee for the 30th induction ceremony of the union headed by Alao Abiodun Joshua, my E-i-C. Although with my Lumia phone that had a faulty screen (I could expend three hours to come up with 250 words), I kept writing nuggets, motivational articles and opinions daily.I shared them on various whatsapp groups. I signed each with IAMCICERO.

Gradually I began criticising those who did wrong with my bleeding pen. Then, during a first semester break, in 2017, Premium Times Centre for Investigative Journalism trained student journalists in the university of Ibadan. This training was really a blessing, thanks to Mr Dapo Olorumyomi and Mr Deji Adekunle, who taught us the art of journalism, most especially, investigative journalism. After the training, I knew better and I kept reading the slides of the presentations like hand outs.

ROAD TO THE ADMINISTRATIVE PART OF UCJ UI.

In 2017, that same year I got inducted into the Union of campus journalist, I decided to render my services to the arena of campus journalists, so I contested and eventually became the 31st Public Relations Officer of the union. That was how I found myself at the administration end of journalism. But I never allowed that to affect my journalistic work, I kept on writing. That same year,I won the best inductee for NUESA press. I may not be the best but people know me for what I believe in. Written some many articles that have hailed and nailed me.

My journey seems rough, my ocean seems stormed, slowly and steadily things gets steady, life goes on, the mouths keeps condemning but my leg keeps pushing me forward on the journey through the fourth Estate.

…………..

To be continued………

1 thought on “On My Road To The Fourth Estate: My Tale As A Student Journalist. Kunle Sotibi Cicero [KSC]

  1. I’m inspired

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close